Deliberate living

Standard

Thomas Henry Huxley once said “Perhaps the most valuable result of all education is the ability to make yourself do the thing you have to do, when it ought to be done, whether you like it or not. It is the first lesson that ought to be learned and however early a man’s training begins, it is probably the last lesson that he learns thoroughly.”
Lately I have brought in many changes in the way I live my life, Whenever I have found that I am not happy with some aspect of my life, I have taken strict measures to make sure I do what I want to do. And I was pretty happy with my decision.
I came across Thomas’s quote In Robin Sharms’s bool “Who will cry when you die”., The title looks so cheezy but its basically a collection of things one has to do lead a happy life, its more on how to live life deliberately.
Coming back to what I was saying, I was happily doing what this pretty much said about leading a tougher life, So that you do what you want to do, rather than what life wants you to do. But the emphasis on this aspect, even though supporting what I was doing, put a doubt in my mind. Am I correct doing this?, is forcing yourself to do what you want to do a good way to achieve happiness?
In some cases, this may be the right way to be happy, When you are not happy with what you are doing, instead of getting frustrated at yourself, it makes more sense to change what you are doing. But really, by doing this are we not missing out on the precious surprises the life brings out?, We never know the happiness which we forced ourself into, may be nothing in comparison to the one life has in store for us. So by going along the life, and taking it as it comes, thought might bring some sadness, on the whole should be more satisfying.
But at the moment, If you are not happy doing what life has brought, Then You must be capable enough to dictate your own life, At the same time be flexible enough not to miss out on the nice little surprises life has in store.

Leave a Reply

