Missing Connection

Standard

Recently I came across this website about missed connections, its like an ad website, you can write about people whom you have lost, people whom you have had glimpse or just a little encounter, you can post about them, and if someone has a clue they will get back to you. I kind of liked the concept. I thought I could do that too, may be not on a website but on my blog page. So here it is, not an advertisement but more of an experience.

I entered not so busy train, expecting a peaceful journey. Time for a little history, I am with my group of friends, well more like people I have just met, people who wanted to travel. My group gets separated, the tickets are not together so we bunch of three end up separate.

As I was saying, I enter the compartment and find my seat. My seat is on the side row, kind of way I like it, just one more person to deal with. The seat is close to the entrance, the door seem to be struck, not oiled perhaps, very tough to open, people struggling in and out of it. I sit by my own, thinking about the day, what happened all along, what went wrong, what I enjoyed. I see this small girl, well not so small, may be 10 years old. She has a big bag in her hand and is struggling to get it, I stand up and open the door for her. There I see a big smile on her face. I begin to think, how happy kids are always. I don’t see who’s behind the kid. Then I see “You” enter, you with your serious face, you look angry, may be it was the heat, or may be it was the fight you had with your sister. I close the door behind you and get back to my seat. I don’t bother to look at you.

I start reading the news paper, the noise made by your family begins to annoy me. I look up and see your face for the first time. You look young, may be 17/18. I fail to see what you are up to, I get back to my paper, I get a little conscious, and look up, I catch you staring, staring at me, you got shy and change your sight. It is a new experience for me, not many times I have caught someone staring, definitely not as young as you. For a second I think I am imagining things, and just lift my head to confirm. I see you stealing a glance at me again. Now I am confirmed, Still I am surprised, I wonder what did you see in me.

Couple of hours go by, I don’t give you much attention, rather try to avoid that. I decide to sleep in the upper berth. I close my eyes, awake though. I hear you fighting again with your sister. This time to sleep in the opposite berth to mine. I kind of enjoy the attention. You are too young for me to reciprocate. I feel this must be your crush or something.

Next day I wake up early and see you sleeping, first time I see the innocence in your face, I can now see the face that was stealing a look or two the other night. It was time for me to get down, I get down even before you wake up. I get off, a little happy, for all the attention and a little regret for not speaking to you. A week goes by,

I come back to one of the cities en route. Its cold, chilly and rain is in the air. My friends decide to shop, and I decide to stay outside, enjoying the fresh air. I see your mom and sister, a pleasant little surprise, my eyes begin to look for you, I don’t see you for a while. I give up and get back into the shop. I get a little impatient and decide to come out. This time I see you, I see you with your family. I guess this was my last chance to see you, my chance to feel the thrill of watching someone when they are not aware. You don’t notice me, I guess you didn’t spot me. The cab arrives and your family decides to go.

Standing there I knew, this would be the last time I am seeing you, few days later and I am back to my city, my city so far from yours. I didn’t hope for anything more. Just knew that you would be one of the missing connections.
There is always a thin line between reality and imagination, as the line begins to blur the picture becomes more perfect.

7 responses »

  1. I always seem to end up in conversations and such with some of the most interesting people, then I never see them again. Usually if I just spot someone “interesting” I don’t remember much about them after the fact though…It’s kind of weird.

  2. @silver
    You dont remember much about them, is that a conscious step?, do you want to forget them?, I did do that many times..just curious

  3. Hope this missing link becomes reality and comes to picture soon! I will be very happy to listen what happens next.

    I just felt to write these words….possible or impossible…don’t care! 🙂

    Bless You!

    Nelina..thats a long time back..so no it wont become a reality
    -Rambler

  4. There is no harm in dreaming, right? If it becomes reality or if it doesn’t…let it be…..enjoy the moment by imagining! 🙂

    Bless You!

    what if the dreams don’t come naturally to me 🙂
    -Rambler

  5. While coming in cab in morning, I was imagining the whole story and was just smiling! 🙂 If I get a chance to make movie in future, this will be the first story that I will be working on 🙂

  6. Pingback: Rajasthan vacation tidbits #1 « Virtual Ramblings

Leave a Reply

