Posted in "Theory of pursuit", thoughts to think

Can this be an "Art"

Memory is an art, I guess most of us agree with this. As student I struggled to remember those complex formulas, and even tougher events in my history class. How many times I have wondered about having a super memory, How many times I have wished for a supernatural memory so that I can get out of this horrible cramming for 10 years during school. In fact a friend of mine and I used to study about various memory improvement techniques.

Well coming back to what I wanted to say today, memory is an art agreed, but “forgetting” is a bigger art. There are few things which are hard to memorize and remember, but there are few things which are impossible to forget. I had put up this line from “Memory’s a wonderful thing if you don’t have to deal with the past” from the movie Before Sunset some time back. I was just wondering, it would have been so nice if people could forget just what they want. I want to remember that day when I enjoyed a little of cheating in one of the tests, but want to forget the guilt that followed forever. I want to remember that pretty face in white which congratulated me long time back, and forget the fact that was the only word she spoke to me. I want the memories of elementary school and want to forget the fact that I have no clue of none of my friends.

Time, as we are told, are the ultimate healer, well I agree partially, it does reduce the memories, but can It wipe it off?, well I don’t think so. The concept of selective erasion, a fiction from the movie “Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind” appealed to me so much, I guess it would be have worked out so well for so many people, if it was possible.

How many of us have slept at the end of a day, with a hope that, the next day when we wake up, we would have forgotten, this one thing from today, this one failure for a while, this one person for a few days, this one incident for years, this one mistake for life.

This weekend has been such a good one, its been a long time since I had a such a busy yet happy weekend. Nothing worth forgetting about this one…

6 thoughts on “Can this be an "Art"

  1. Kind if like selective hearing…
    If I want to hear it, I listen… If not I tend to disengage if at all possible. 🙂
    As for memory, wow… although I would like to forget about many things. I don’t don’t know that I would choose to wipe away the unpleasant ones. Sometimes it those very “memories” that shape who we are to some degree.
    I think what I mean is; if I hadn’t mucked up so much stuff in my life, perhaps I would have never learned the value that those lessons teach us.
    Ummmmm it is surely “food for thought.”
    Too bad there wasn’t a way to rewind time! Now thats something I’d be interested in! :)))

  2. i did some pretty bad things in the past. nah, nothing too awful or anything but some pretty immoral things. sure it’d be nice to forget about it like it never happened and all. but i can’t. this mind remembers the bad better than the good.

    but it’s actually nice this way. i learn from past mistakes. at least now i know what to do and what not to. if i decide to forget all the bad in the past, i might do it all over again.

  3. @ideasmith
    Yep! agreed, what If I want to get rid of only the disaster.

    @Ireland.
    Hey welcome back..
    yes learning from mistakes is lovely, but what if that end ups a regret which you want to get rid off

    @Jos,
    Actually the intent here was not to forget the bad things, just to forget the unpleasant tag alongs to the great memories.

  4. I read a poem once called “The Art of Losing”. It was really good, I have to find it again.

    I think I’m going to have to watch “Eternal Sunshine” again…I watched it once before but didn’t get a whole lot out of it at the time.

Leave a comment