“Old habits die hard!”- Heads or Tails#20

Standard

Topic today over at skittles for “Heads or Tails” is “old” if you call heads, and “new” if you chose tails. I chose heads and hence “Old”. Some things are so tough to change, old habits are really tough to get rid off, not sure how we develop them, but then even with lots of attempts, we can’t change them at all.

I decided to list some of my oldest habits, some really disgusting. This is almost a sure shot suicide attempt, I am sure half the people will stop coming over here after reading them. Anyways, here they go.

1. I am so used to telling white lies, you know those small ones which don’t harm anybody much, but still somewhere deep down, you know you have lied, and kind of irks your conscience.

2. I know this is really disgusting, but many times when people are not looking I sneak and pick my nose. I know its gross, but then a little itch and my palms go automatically, and my eyes begin to look around.

3. This must be one of the oldest habits which I can remember, I generally smell stuff, things ranging from clothes, food, chemicals, anything that comes to my hand, I end up sniffing it a little. People in my family always tease me, its reminiscence of the past life, and we all know which animal sniffs πŸ™‚

4. I always read magazines and newspaper from the last page, somehow the last page always excites me more :). This too has been one of the oldest of my habits.

5. This I am not sure if can call as a habit, but then I really have a bad habit of when to stop. Conversations, talks, or even relationships, I really have problems with finding out boundaries.

6. This is one more of the disgusting kind, I pluck out strands of hair from my ears, I know it can easily be done by a pair of scissors, some how I always end up pulling them out, mostly when I am thinking.

7. I never allow my wounds to heal, as soon as the first layer of skin forms on it, I tend to scratch and burst the skin, fortunately my skin heals fast, just wondering what if I were to be hemophiliac.

8. I end up reliving a lost opportunity for along long time, I take a long time to forget about it, instead come up with strategies thinking about what If I get into the same situation again, which never happens.

So now that I have almost driven away all you people, I guess I will follow #5 and stop :).

18 responses »

  1. I’m a sniffer too. Before I buy shampoo or lotions, I always take a little sniff.

    Linda, sniffing shampoo is one thing, but sniffing every small things which comes to your hand is different :))
    -Rambler

  2. If you drive anyone away it’s only cause they probably do the same stuff but aren’t brave enough to fess up. πŸ˜› I do four of the eight things myself – I’ll just leave it up to you to guess which ones. hehehe

    Erica,
    You’ve kept me guessing πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  3. oo.. sounds like the 7 quirks tag I once did.. only worse.. 6 brought to mind the movie Golmaal (Amol Palekar).. if you have seen it.. you will understand what I mean

    Preeti,
    I think I have forgotten that part of golmaal πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  4. I get Women’s Day magazine every month, and I always start at the back. Now I know I’m not the only one!

    Elephantlady
    Again, glad to know I am not the only one πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  5. I think everyone’s at least a bit guilty of #1. I’ve had issues with it recently myself.
    Um, if a nose wasn’t meant to be picked, our fingers wouldn’t be just the size to fit in the nostrils!
    Give me a bag of Doritos & I’ll show you not knowing how to stop! πŸ™‚
    Poor Hubby yanks his nose hairs instead of using the spandy little clipper I bought him…ow!!
    I do the going over & over thing with conversations. I have social issues, so pick apart how I did it “wrong.”
    All in all: You are not alone!
    I thought it was a great post. πŸ™‚

    Autumn,
    I like your idea, of fingers and nostrils πŸ˜€
    he he Doritos, may be I could compete you with cheezitos
    Glad to see I am not alone πŸ˜€
    -Rambler

  6. You didn’t drive me away.
    I read newspapers from the back to front. But, my dad’s girlfriend always reads the last page of a book first – that drives me nuts.

    Misty
    Are you sure?, didn’t the post drive you away πŸ™‚
    Its really surprising to see so many people reading newspaper back to front πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  7. Still here, so I guess you didn’t drive us all away. Good post.

    Have a great day.

    Vixensden.. glad I didn’t drive all you guys away πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  8. Well, I think you would be surprised how many people secretly relate to many of your ‘habits’. We all have things that we wish we didn’t do…but let me tell you, those little white lies damage your credibility. I’ve known people who lie for no good reason…about insignificant things. It makes no sense and people look down on it. If you can’t be trusted to tell the truth when it doesn’t count….
    Great list though!! πŸ™‚

    Beccagirl,
    hehhe I like the word Secretly relate. more than the credibility, guilt is what I am worried about.
    -Rambler

  9. Those are quite some habits, Rambler!!! πŸ™‚ I too read magazines, back to front, but NEVER a book, unless it is really, really bad, and I just want it over!!!

    Now I know what you are doing when you are thinking and you haven’t lost me!!! πŸ™‚

    Lea,
    Me too, haven’t read a book backwards πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  10. I sniff my hands a lot, mainly because I hate having them dirty. If I have to touch something that I’m unsure of, I tend to sniff them afterwards to make sure whatever I did touch wasn’t too “off”.

    And I do the same things with magazines a lot of the time. When I used to read “teen magazines” I might look at the first few pages but then go to the back where the more “serious” articles were.

    Silver..
    I sniff all kinds of stuff, anything that comes to my hand πŸ™‚
    Well not so sure about teen magazines, mostly magazines here have snowbiz and other useless stuff at the back πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  11. heh..heh…brave rambler!!!

    I love to read newspapers/mags from the back…white lies u tell all te time esp if u r a mother…that’s te onlyway u survive!

    and yup, looks like we r difficult to drive away…so keep picking ;)..

    TA,
    I am surprised that many people read the paper from the back.
    Why mother and white lies??..
    hehhe I liked your statement “keep picking” πŸ˜€
    -Rambler

  12. You made me smile with your nose-picking confession. I think if we were all as honest as you, we would have to admit to it as well. I always start at the back of a magazine. I’m a sniffer, too. Books, crayons, bandaids. I’ll stand in the aisle of a store sniffing shampoo, deodorant, air fresheners, you name it. As for talking! Sheesh. I went out shopping yesterday and I think I talked the ears off everyone I ran into.

    Skittles,
    I had been wanting to confess this one from a long time :)..
    oh I did not mean talking, I seldom talk, but I meant, I tend to over do stuff, stretch boundaries.
    -Rambler

  13. Thanks for visiting and commenting for Blessing.

    I really like your list of habits. They hit close to home. πŸ˜‰

    Brian.. thanks for visiting
    -Rambler

  14. Interesting post. And no, you haven’t driven me away, LOL. You’re just human, and there’s nothing wrong with that! Thanks for visiting my Heads or Tails – sorry for taking so long to repay the visit.

    Siani, thanks for dropping by. Glad I didn’t drive you guys away
    -Rambler

  15. No, you haven’t driven me away. I appreciate your honesty in this post. We all have our share of bad habits that are hard to break.

    I’m sure everyone tell white lies. There are just instances when a white lie will do you more good than harm.

    You know I also have a habit of reliving the lost opportunities. I hate it when small incidents ‘haunt’ me.

    Thanks Rach, I wish I could be this honest in person πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  16. aloha …..
    so mister brave brave rambler … the above old habits hit pretty close home when it comes to my habits as well ….
    the white lies part ….. i have done some …. and it happens .. irking the conciense part more than the white lie itself …
    and then you sniff … i hear …. i can hear pretty weird things at times …. i hear vibrating mobiles of the person sitting three seats away from me …meybe everyne can but then i dont know of any”one” yet ….
    thoguh i now know people who do indulge in reading the newspaper and the mags backwards ….. nice to know i aint the only one
    and number eight is all meee……….!!!!

    and all teh old habits aint driving me away …. !!!!

    BB,
    yeah it does irk most of the times, and I hate it.
    oh talking about hearign stuff, I can hear vibrating phones when I am asleep from the appartment on top of ours. I feel horriblem when I wake up because of that.
    about #8, glad to know I am not the only one πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

Leave a Reply

