Laughter tracks

Standard

Sometimes I wonder.. how came up with the idea of laughter track. Even people who are remotely regular amongst the sitcoms would be aware of how common these laughter tracks have become.

The other day I was catching up one of the reruns of the hit series F.R.I.E.N.D.S on TV, I was just zapped when I could remember a joke so precisely that I could tell when the laughter track was about to start. We get so used to listening to these tracks, that we almost kind of make it part of the entertainment.

Somebody must have been a big believer in the fact that laughter is contagious, so apart from humor why not through in a little laughter so that people get charged up. That must have been the idea. You know sometimes it works, sometimes when I am being bored or a little low, and I sit to watch a series, and am still not in the mood for the laughter, the track kind of puts me on the track.

Sometimes the tracks make us feel utter disasters as well, mainly at our own sense of humor. There have been so many times, when I have watched a scene, and have felt the expression or dialogs or for that matter some mannerisms extremely funny, and I have burst out with a loud laugh, and then when I go silent the track sets off on the next joke, making me so conscious at my sense of humor, I have seen couple of stares from my dad, who just hears a big laugh in otherwise silent household, followed by a big background laughter coming from TV, he might be thinking I must be not understanding any of the humor.. πŸ™‚

The other day, I was catching up some episodes of the old series MASH on the internet. I think its one series which I started to watch so late, it must be so old now that its outdated even in the rerun circuit, but have to admit some hilarious sitcom it is. I could not stop myself laughing in few episodes, even long after I finished watching it. One thing was that many episodes in the first season did not have laughter tracks. For few episodes, I kind of missed the track, it was like my cue was missing.. or a feel that I was watching a soap but not a sitcom. Again so used to the track. I got used to its absence after few episodes.

It made me wonder what if we could some day give the laughter tracks to our blogs, wouldn’t that be fun, you kind of start reading a post, just when there is something funny, you hear laughter as the background music.. hehhe that would be fun. WordPress people, you listening??

Imagination can be wilder, what if our life had the laughter track. Amidst a conversation, when you make some hilarious joke and no one gets it, then you kind of wish that people should have had a cue :).. wouldn’t that be fun, kinda telling people “Guys, this is the end of my joke, start laughing”. ah Fun!.

On a slightly serious note, think about this one.
When you are low and depressed, kind of lost hope in life, and you here a laughter track, kind of a cue from him up above, saying, common, now is the time for you to laugh and cheer up.

10 responses »

  1. (insert laughter track here) that’s too funny. I couldn’t help but think of the Joker in Batman. When he dies he’s still laughing and they pull out a laughter can in his pocket. I would love it if laughter tracks could be added to our blogs! (in my case blogger) I just wrote too poems that are suppose to be funny and I had a craving to put happy faces πŸ˜€ or LOL after sentences to start the laughter tracks…
    I know what MASH episodes you are referring too. Notice how the first episode had no blood? hehe….Love MASH!

    JJ, I haven’t seen Batman, but have seen a hindi remake on the similar subject, and I think it was shot very sensitively.
    Well laughter tracks for blogs was just a wonder πŸ™‚
    yeah MASH was too good.
    -Rambler

  2. That was some pondering there!Never have given so much thought to laughter tracks.At times though,they seem put of place.I liked the idea of them on the blogs πŸ™‚

    Have a nice weekend!

    Sameera,
    Well there has been times when I felt laughter tracks made no sense :)…but yeah I do laughter tracks on blog will be funny, I might never put them πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  3. That was some pondering there!Never have given so much thought to laughter tracks.At times though,they seem out of place.I liked the idea of them on the blogs πŸ™‚

    Have a nice weekend!

  4. what’s a matter rambler… LOL worn thin????

    on the serious side… even in the bleakest moments i think there is a laugh track,, we just choose not to hear it…..

    Paisley.. LOL well not the same effect πŸ˜›
    Well why not make the track louder paisley make sure the other person gets to hear it ..
    -Rambler

  5. πŸ™‚ nice one. never gave so much thought to it, though. you seem to notice and ponder over every little thing in life, innit? thats great. πŸ™‚

    Priya.
    Well not so much on the little things πŸ™‚
    P.S. there is no such thing as little thing πŸ˜‰
    -Rambler

  6. i for one am against ‘laughter tracks’ mainly because:
    1) they irritate the hell out of me when im not in one of those happy-happy moods…
    2) sometimes they are louder than the dialogues itsself making me miss out on the ones after the punch line…
    3)ive got a rather good sense of humour (or so i’d like to believe) and think making punchlines that obvious simply spoils the whole joke…
    4) it eliminates the chances of me laughing and smirking at ppl who dont get the jokes…sigh!
    so the idea about blogs and life having a laughter track isnt much appreciated by me..,simply because it would kill the fun *evil laugh*

    but gotta admit loved the idea in the last few lines…sometimes we really need to know that ‘HE’ is just kidding…

    Pri, I agree with all the points you mentioned, but still it does set the mood sometimes.
    Exactly thats how I started thinking about the post, we need to see humor in life sometimes.
    -Rambler

  7. cheer up dude!
    Friends is the only series I can watch again and again and again and still laugh! Oh! What am I saying! It’s the only series I have watched from the begining to the end!

    Nita, You got to try some other sitcoms, there have been many good ones.
    But yes Friends was something great.
    -Rambler

  8. thats a novel idea.. if only we cud put laughter tracks to our lives!! as cues to our jokes or to cheer up..
    sitcoms wud have bn rather VERY boring.. actually, i cant think of sitcoms without the laughter tracks. I think they shud put ‘crying tracks’ to the sas-bahu serials.. hmm wonder if that’ll make people cry..

    SSNAB
    Welcome back to virtual ramblings, well I am not sure if it will make people cry, it would definitely be a warning signal to many a people not to enter the room πŸ˜‰
    -Rambler

  9. that actually remind me of many 90s sitcoms. do they still have that these days? they dont, right? or maybe i got so used to it i dont really hear it anymore. dont know.

    but to put that track on the blog.. i dunno. different people read at a different pace. probably the idea wont go down too well…

    Jos,
    Well they have the tracks even now, I think you have got used ot it.,
    was just a thought about laughter tracks on blogs.
    -Rambler

  10. Humour is so subjective, like all things – can you imagine putting a laughter track on your blog and then the reader doesn’t find it funny! πŸ˜‰

    Vanilla,
    Thats the fun part, atleast he would laught at my sense of humor, or rather lack of it πŸ˜‰
    kidding…
    -Rambler

Leave a Reply

