500, going onto 501

Standard

Yesterday, I did my 500th post over here at virtual rambling. Yep “Kiss” was my 500th post on this blog.
I can’t believe that I just did that, remembering myself who had no clue as to what to communicate, what to write, and scrambled thoughts always. Today I am filled with nostalgia from blog world, people, posts and friends, so many over the last two years I have spent over here. I thought it would be nice to walk down the memory lane, and remember some of the blog world nostalgia.

When I began blogging, I really did not know how it works out, are you supposed to just blog, get someone to read your blog, tell your friends that you have started blogging, advertise, or just don’t bother about all this and just write, I think I decided to tell my friend, and “Random Thoughts” was my first reader.

That reminds me, “Virtual Ramblings” was not the first choice for my blog, it did start with the name “Random Ramblings”, just a week and “Random” got the ax, “Ramblings” survived though :).

I was very apprehensive with people online, and I hardly interacted with any blogger online. I am not sure how she came across my blog, but Ireland who used to write at “The windmills of my mind“, she was the first one whom I spoke over the IM, shared my real identity, and it was fun knowing her as a person. Its been a long time since I sent her an email, or spoke to her on IM. It would be nice to get her back to blogging. I did shoot her an email today.

There were parts of me which I totally ignored, I found it really difficult to acknowledge those hidden emotions in me, and thats when I came across Ideasmithy at XXfactor happened, and an idea of starting an exclusive blog for my pure pursuits. The idea got me in touch with people with so many different approaches to life. Many people participated in the body or soul series, and many have remained very good blogging friends. Paisley who writes over at “Why Paisley” has been one blogger who has always given me a different view, someone who always breaks the cliche, comes out with an alternative look at my subjects over at pure pursuits.

Finding someone who really gets what you mean, corrects you when they feel you are wrong, is very difficult, not just a word that you are wrong, but also make sure you get their point and realize what you are doing wrong, I was fortunate enough to find a friend who did all this, its been a real pleasure to know a good friend sunshine.

He has been my sole regular male reader for as long as I can remember now. Extremely talented writer, Matt writes over at My life as a conscious observer

Prompts, it began with “Poetry Thursday” which my good friend Darlene used to participate, I got hooked on, and then moved on writer’s island, and then many others to follow. Silverneurotic one of my oldest blog buddies introduced me to Heads or Tails, which I continue to enjoy doing every Tuesday.

Blogs were meant for discussion and honest opinions, so there were times when there was strong opinions against my posts, some of you might remember “couple of good news“, and it was real fun discussing the point of views with ashu over the post .

A couple prompts and a scribbling of poems does not make me a poet, does it, I was reminded of this by a critique over at this post, good to be brought down to ground once in a way.

I said this is one of the previous posts, there are few people who write informative blogs, highly passionate about their subjects, do research about the facts and provide you amazing factual evidence, something which I never do. Nita and Shefaly both have provided me with a different approach to blogging. I still remember Shefaly as the one who made me spell something right, something my teacher could not get me to do.

Books, so many people have suggested me books over here, I am so thankful to many people, It would be stupid to list them out here, but people thank you so much for the book suggestions.

It’s amazing how many new people I have got to read in this blogosphere, some who have got me hooked on, and some who have made me really wait for their next posts. I wish I could export my google reader over here.

Guys thank you so much for all the memories you have given me.

Veens had tagged me to link ten people, I think this counts :).

Why do I have a strong feeling that 500 should be it, the “end“?

29 responses »

  1. Hey CONGRATS………….wow! 500…..great going……Keep it up! One suggestion from me, keep this ‘end’ feeling with you only………..I am sure, if you ask anyone on your blog…..not even one will agree about it……..Continue your writings……………..So, when is the blogger party? πŸ™‚

  2. congratulations on reaching the 500th mark. by the way your writing flows very well. please don’t stop blogging! you write so honestly that I love reading your blog. also i think you have a lot more to say…keep going.
    thanks for the link rambler and a pleasure knowing you. πŸ™‚

  3. Better not be the end!!! What would we do out here without your insights & ponderings to spark our own??
    Blogging is a lot more than one thinks it is @ the beginning, isn’t it? I don’t know what I’d do without it now.

  4. Congratulations.
    And there can be no end to something we all love, just another beginning each time.
    Most of us in blogosphere are completely addicted to it and may not be able to be without our daily/weekly dose πŸ™‚
    And I for one am thankful to have stumbled onto your blog, do keep writing πŸ™‚

  5. what a sweet heart you are to make mention of me here… congratulations on the 500th post.. that is phenomenal isn’t it??? i am so glad you are still here ,, and still sharing your very unique perspective on life with me….

  6. don’t you dare let this be the end! I ditto what Autumn says! 500 posts is no small feat! I like reading both your blogs and I’m sorry I don’t get here very often, or as often as I’d like anyway πŸ˜‰
    I still can’t get over your only in your 20’s…lol….your writing is light years ahead of your age in experience πŸ˜€
    btw, he succeeded….all over me and I had to air dry and wear that for the rest of wedding because we were too far away from home for me to change LOL

  7. Rambler:

    “I still remember Shefaly as the one who made me spell something right, something my teacher could not get me to do.”

    I need to show this to my dad (and to many others, who are not so candid). πŸ™‚

    If we met in the real world, I doubt very much that the differences of our age, gender, region, language, work etc would have enabled us to speak much, if at all. So the blogosphere must do something remarkable, almost Socratic for people to break down barriers and catalyse introductions based on common themes in thinking.

    Thanks for your kind words – including about the spelling πŸ˜‰ – and I am not sure I get the logic of stopping at 500. Whoever set such a “limit”? And at any rate, why would you stop, eh?

  8. a few days back u knw.. i did my 200th post on BrGb and 50th on Rat-a-Tat

    well i as thinking hard…will he MENTION ME!

    but yoo–hoo …by tit or tat i do GET mentioned.!

    hehehe! i m not complaiing πŸ˜‰

    ohh and thi post.. so filled with nostalgia…shows hw attached u r to us all viz blogger πŸ™‚

    noh i is not the end! it is just the beginning !

    keep writing!! we need more!

  9. 500 posts wow!!!

    congrats…
    lol at just jen’s surprise at your being in the 20’s …reminds me of teh initial times that i was not even convinced u were a guy…hee..hee

    and don’t u stop…!!!! or u don’t get the chocolates…

    πŸ™‚

  10. congratulations on 500 : ) i have enjoyed so many of your posts and though i don’t comment as often as i used to, i am always reading and enjoying πŸ™‚

    can’t wait for the next 500!! : )

  11. Thank you all for the encouraging words.. I don’t know why but still I am in two minds about blogging, definitely its nothing to do with the milestones, and nothing to do with dearth of things to say, I still have many thoughts which would need a vent.
    May be I will take a holiday or two from blogging for right now.

    Neilina..blog party..anytime.. so my blog or yours? πŸ˜€

    Nita.I am glad you find my blog honest.

    Sameera..like the conviction with which you say thrash πŸ˜€

    Autumn, I know its tough to imagine without having a place to write. I want to see how it works out

    CR, I like the way you say it, there is no end. may be its for the better, may be I will start with a new beginning soon

    Paisley, pleasure is all mine.

    JJ, so I don’t sound like 20’s ? ha ha .. I thought I sounded very immature…

    Prats, Gyan??? really???

    Shefaly.. or should I say Shefali hahah .. I can’t believe you remembered it too.
    Are you sure.. I mean I hardly speak to anyone in person, so may all that difference would not have mattered.
    And it was not a limit for sure.

    Veens did you notice that this was the tag you asked me to do?

    TA, I am not sure how I missed that out.. I know you were surprised that I was a guy πŸ˜€

    Brocasarea thanks

    Darlene…hope to reach next 500 too πŸ˜€

  12. So good to stop by at this moment of 500!!! Wow!!! And fun to walk down this bloglandia lane with you of your reflections of ramblings that are way more than the definition. Heart and soul come from you Rambler… heart and soul…

  13. Congrats on the post, as well at the constant good writing and wondrous thoughts. It’s always a pleasure to read, and thank you for the kind words and link. Don’t end at 500. Begin at it.

  14. Wonderful, nostalgic post. Hope it’s not the “end”, Rambler. It’s been a pleasure watching you develop as a writer and grow in your blogging. Yours has been a very definite journey.
    Congratulations on all you have achieved, now just don’t ride off into the sunset – though of course, you must always do what is right for you.

  15. Wonderful 500th! It is great to read some of your great posts. I am grateful to writers island because it opened the door for me to great blog sites like yours. I would be a year blogging in August and I have 155 posts to date. What a journey it has been.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  16. yes i did.. ofcourse! thats y i said by tit or tat i did get mentioned πŸ˜›

    u taking holiday? what abt the prompts ? that one also πŸ™‚

    ehh! ok..take a holiday…cme back refreshed πŸ˜€

  17. yey!!!!
    congratulations !!!!!!
    applause!!!!!!
    you write great stuff !!!
    and this surely aint the end .
    500 is no small feat but i dont care if you reach a lakh … !
    keep writing !!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. Congrats Rambler 500 posts is quite an accomplishments and you only get better. I always enjoy your posts although I spent a little less on the net now.
    Keep up the good work

  19. heyyy congrats on ur 500th post-o-anniversary! πŸ˜€

    the blogworld is a wonderful place…ive met soo many lovely people around here myself…i could never sum all of them in a post!it would be neverending…

    hats off to u for doing that…

    cheers!
    *opens a bottle of champaigne*

  20. Lea.. Thank you for dropping by..it had been quite some time, and thank you for such kind words

    Thanks priya..I might be back very soon

    Matt, good to see you back.

    Vanilla, its a little surprising that the growth in blogging is apparent.. πŸ™‚
    thank you so much for the kind words

    Suda..thanks man..and welcomehere

    BB, 1lakh?.. wow that should be my goal

    DC..look what this did, it got you speaking πŸ˜€

    Marja..thank you so much

    Geraldine..thank again for visiting

Leave a Reply

