Royal Ramblings

Standard

The topic over at skittles today is “royal”. The first thing that comes to my mind when I think royal is “palace”, there is a certain charm with the old palaces in India, something which makes you imagine how it would feel to stay in one such place.

From the time I was a kid, I have always wanted to stay in a palatial house. Palatial not in terms of richness, but in terms of its vastness, and grandeur. I have always liked big houses with large number of rooms and big courtyards. So as a kid when I narrated what I am going to do when I grew up, the number of rooms always found a mention in my plan for the future.

As a kid, I changed many schools, so one of the schools I went to was a very old school, and also had a ancient sort of building. When I first went into school for my first grade, I was so happy, my dream of spending time in ancient building was coming true, I just loved exploring in and around of the building, by the time I reached 4th grade, my last year at that school, I had kind of roamed every corner of that place.

I had one reoccurring dream as a child up until my teens, it was about me discovering a new hidden room in my house, and me trying to explore various unknown things in it, like books which I had never seen, sort of paintings, and many such things. So every morning after such a dream I was very curious. I wanted to live in such a place, we had a very small house, just a single room and a living place and a small kitchen. May be this was the reason, I got such dreams.

After I grew up I had totally forgotten about my dream, until I came across this website about interpreting our dreams. I wanted to know what my dream meant. I was surprised to see that the website said that, the house was a symbol of “me”, what I really wanted to discover was a unknown side of me. It said, I was in search of newer aspects of myself, and wanted to expand as a person.

Guess there was nothing royal about this rambling 🙂

Zemanta Pixie
14 responses »

  1. You know Skittles doesn’t mind rule-bending. 😉 Using something as a jumping point works for me! I think that’s a fascinating interpretation of those dreams. I used to want a large house also. My mother always moved us from one apartment to another, not very big. Now my “lottery dream” isn’t a huge house, but certainly one that has a room for different purposes, such as a music room, a library, an actual dining room… A friend I had in school had an old house with many levels & lots of little nooks & crannies everywhere. I loved it!! *sigh* May both of our home dreams come true. 🙂

    I would have loved your friend’s house 🙂
    -Rambler

  2. I feel there is royal about this rambling……you yourself has so much to discover, so much vastness in you! I also studied till my 3rd standard in one of the old building which was a palace. I was in total love with that place. But few months back, when I got the chance to visit that place again to cherish my old memories, all that I can see was just a structure of some standing walls. The earthquake had destroyed everything there. 😦 I love to live in small room, when we were constructing our house, I was telling my mom to keep my room as small as possible. 🙂
    Whts that site of dream interpretation, I always dream to be with snakes and sometimes falling from a very high cliff.

    Bless You! ~Namaste~

    snakes and cliff?..would be nice to know the interpretation for that one
    -Rambler

  3. I have a fascination with large multi-roomed places as well! I think it would be awesome to explore an old castle.. one with secret passages and such.

    I interpret dreams. As I was reading about yours I was coming to the same conclusions that your website did. 🙂

    Skittles, totally awesome to explore :)..so next dream I Will send a mail to you..guess it would be nice to know your interpretation too 🙂
    -Rambler

  4. Was still a very cool read though!!! I have always been interested in dream interpretation, and what you said about yours made total sense to me. Happy HOT day!!!

    Thanks Sue
    -Rambler

  5. The boarding school I went to in the UK was a convent built after the Reformation, so it was pretty old. Interesting but very chilly. It apparently had a few ghosts but I did not see any.

    Enjoyed your ramble

    BC must be chilly for sure :)..ghosts? 😀
    -Rambler

  6. I work in a large 18th century building, and there is a door which has been locked for as long a people in the village can remember. No one knows what lies beyond and there has always been an unspoken rule not to go through it.

    I can never remember my dreams. I often sense that I had an interesting one, but what it was about, I never know! Does that have a meaning do you think?

    that sounds interesting..
    Keith have you heard about dream bardos??
    -Rambler

  7. that is so interesting your dream. i would love to find a secret room. Hey maybe it wasnt that house you were in. It could be another??

    Thanks for stopping by. I found you no probs this time! 🙂

    Another house? yeah may be 😀
    -Rambler

  8. I like this post. I also love the idea of unknown rooms to explore and ancient buildings. Although I’ve come to learn that I don’t want to live in a giant place. But I like to have those places to explore around. 🙂

    So what website did you use to interpret your dream?

    Thanks Frigga..why no giant place?:)
    I just googled it
    -Rambler

  9. Hey tell me where to do that dreams interpretation. As Seilina said, even I keep gettings dreams of snakes and falling from a high cliff. I would want to know what that means… also sometimes I get weird dreams which has no meaning at all… can you imagine, Salman khan singing duet to Wahida Rehman, that too in my dreams 😛

    Akshata…I googled it..so whats with the snakes and the cliff…so many getting it.
    btw I would love the movie, fan of both Sk and Wahida Rehman.

    Even I liked big houses since child hood and I always wanted my room to be big, hugely ventilated and well lit, I wanted huge huge windows in my rooms 🙂 Coming to that I think I always liked the outdoors where there is cool breeze, bright sunshine, lots of birds’ twitters, amazing colours….

    More than any of your posts, I liked this one very very much, very simple but subtly powerful, felt very connected to 😀

    hmm hugely ventilated :)..I keep most of my windows shut 😀
    glad you liked it, but really suprised that you like this very much of all my posts
    -Rambler

  10. Dreaming big is the key to living life kingsize!Hope your wish comes true one day 🙂

    Sameera.. I would like the king size life 🙂
    -Rambler

  11. thats was a nice interpretation …
    contrary … i would like a normal sized house …with lots of family…. all together … and i wouldnt really mind the space crunch !
    to me a large house somehow gives an impression of emptiness……..

    hmm I think I agree with the emptiness part, but this was more about adventure.
    -Rambler

Leave a Reply

