The contrasts

Standard

I sit here on my desk, with a mug of coffee in hand and a mind ready to wander. Its pouring outside, with big drops of raindrops splashing onto the already wet earth.

The images of my cousin smoking a newly lit cigarette flashes in front of me. The rain outside is still pouring its heart out, as though it is trying to dissolve every smoke in the air, and cleaning it for us, as though it is trying to tell us not to worry. It is making its presence felt by detoxing the air for us.
The soothing smell of the wet ground waking my long asleep smell sensors in my brain, making me turn my head and look out side the window onto the streets for that unknown familiar face. Making me want to smell that undefined wet fragrance of “hers”.
The wet clothes hung on every roof top telling a tale of a family behind the closed door, having a nice cozy afternoon forgetting about the world around, and the changing seasons. People of all types, people of all classes, people of all professions equally blessed with the downpour.
Even after so many misdeeds of the mankind, we being forgiven, and filled with dreams again, dreams of the blooming fields. Farmers dreaming of greener fields, and a room full of grains for the days ahead. A feel of contentment all around, as though the rain filled the gaps around, and instilled a completeness in everyone, even in minds of the least deserving individuals like me.
As I gaze upon the falling raindrops with a sense of happiness, I feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to experience this feeling amongst a sense of famine that world casts onto us.

I sit here on my desk, with a mug of coffee in my hand and a mind ready to wander. Its pouring outside, with big drops of raindrops splashing onto the already wet earth.

The images of my cousin smoking a newly lit cigarette flashes in front of me. The rain outside is still pouring its heart out, as though it is trying to dissolve every smoke in the air, trying to give back all the dirt we threw around, trying to give back every toxin which we tried to force it to the people around, in a way returning every bit of the black we ever tried to throw at it’s way.
The black oily thick liquid of sorts flowing on the street wiping off the calming picture of the mother nature, the smells of chemicals and prospects of an acid rain, providing a possible picture of revenge by the mother nature. Spreading regret all around, spreading unhappiness, and worry amongst people of all classes, and professions. The untimely downpours damaging the crops all around, giving sleepless nights to otherwise sleep deprived farmers around the world. A smell of despair all around.
I am greeted with a smell of the half dried wet clothes hung within the house, the smell figurative of the rotten mankind. Families dizzy and confused, with raised levels of anger and frustration, the man showing the frustration on his wife, and the wife on the children, and the children on their poor little pets.
As I gaze upon the falling raindrops with a sense of frustration and that of regret, for witnessing the same sight day after day and year after year, and still not finding enough courage to get rid of the inhibitions, to jump in and get my skin to feel the sense of the washing rain.

I sit here on my desk, with a mug of coffee in my hand and a mind ready to wander. Its pouring outside, with big drops of raindrops splashing onto the already wet earth.

15 responses »

  1. wow! I like the way you depicted the contrast. Can rain create this hatered feeling also in someone heart? I wonder! ……I never thought like this! I never thought that for some people rain can be repulsion. Rain for me is always an attraction.
    Is it like this, even for the worst happenings can I think of this contrast? It depends on us only, which contrast to create……Yeah, very true; life is nothing but a series of choices- choices of happiness and sadness!

    After coming to the end of this post, I need to again read the starting paras to make my heart happy with all the calm and blessed words!

    Bless You Always! ~Namaste~

    Neilina..It can, and that someone in this case was me, or my imagination :).
    sometimes life is just not about happiness isn’t it
    -Rambler

  2. Wonderful
    Longing to throw the shackles off to be ourselves and contrasting what we are doing to the world and how we change as we worsen it.
    I loved the feeling of deja-vu you conveyed with the repetitiveness too.

    CR…
    Dejavu conveyed with the repetitiveness..somewhere more than the deja-vu I wanted to give a feel of starting fresh, we start from the same level and thoughts can go to different view points.. I was just sitting at my window and the second set of thoughts came in from the same set of visuals
    -Rambler

  3. this was very nice… the way you brought out the contrast… the feeling of deja-vu like CR said was very good!

    Thanks Preethi..Dejavu..hmm need to think about that one 😀
    -Rambler

  4. oh rambler… that was excellent… what a creative idea,, same scene two viewpoints.. loved it…

    Thanks Paisley..coming from you it boosts me even more
    -Rambler

  5. Two looks on life or ehhh rain. excellent I really enjoyed it and I am tending
    too the first one. But nothing in life is black and white so the second one applies a bit as well. Well written

    Thanks Marja..you know we always love the first one, the best one,but sometimes we have to consider the worst one too..may be we should be happy we still are in the position to see the best out of it 🙂
    -Rambler

  6. loved it. it reminded me of something i read somewhere – “GODISNOWHERE”. It’s ur choice. either u read it as GOD IS NOW HERE or as GOD IS NOWHERE. ur viewpoint…

    Thanks Priya… sometimes its not just two possibilities..when the sample space increases, the idea of probability becomes more interesting.
    -Rambler

  7. Lovely prose poem. Your words are lyrical, the imagery are well painted in the mind with your descriptive composition. I heard the message so powerful yet gentle.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Thanks Jeques..
    -Rambler

  8. Excellent piece of writing!
    I never thought of rains in such contrasting manner!!!!

    Thanks Rash…rains can make wonders and cause havoc in lives ::)
    -Rambler

  9. You managed to capture all of the senses. That’s what I got from this story.

    Thanks Nita..sometimes the rain gets to me and my senses 🙂
    -Rambler

  10. For me, life is just about happiness……..My pray to God is to turn every gloom into happiness. I will wait for every happiness to come! Don’t you think this is the only thing for which we are surviving. Whatever is there beyond happiness, I would like to do after my life, atleast something should be there to be done after my death! 🙂

Leave a Reply

