Moi philosophy

Standard

Got this over at chandni’s post As if I didn’t know
. I thought I should give it a try too :). So here goes my results.

What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)
created with QuizFarm.com
You scored as KantianismYour life is guided by the ethical model of Kantianism: You seek to have consistent laws rule your actions, and your will is directed by reason.

“I do not, therefore, need any penetrating acuteness to see what I have to do in order that my volition be morally good. Inexperienced in the course of the world, incapable of being prepared for whatever might come to pass in it, I ask myself only: can you also will that your maxim become a universal law?”

–Immanuel Kant

More info at Arocoun’s Wikipedia User Page…

Kantianism
75%
Existentialism
70%
Utilitarianism
70%
Justice (Fairness)
65%
Hedonism
65%
Strong Egoism
45%
Divine Command
40%
Apathy
30%
Nihilism
10%

Zemanta Pixie
9 responses »

  1. It is really intersting!
    I also took this one and for I also scored Kantianism! 🙂 But the scores are different……
    Kantianism 85%
    Utilitarianism 75%
    Strong Egoism 60%
    Hedonism 50%
    Existentialism 50%
    Justice (Fairness) 45%
    Apathy 30%
    Divine Command 30%
    Nihilism 5%
    hmmmmm………..

    I am glad you tried
    -Rambler

  2. i’m an existentialist….but then again, jean paul sartre has always been a favorite….

    Rebecca..I am not so aware about the various forms..just trying to learn about them now
    -Rambler

  3. @ Rambler:

    Even those who spent years studying Kant at University are unsure what the import and meaning of his philosophy are. So anything that can objectify such profundity (or obscurity, take your pick) is surely aiming higher than its grasp enables it to. One interpretation of Kantianism would say that is exactly what Kantianism is about. Which begs the question – if the quiz is prejudiced a certain way, how can outcomes be reliable?

    Now you are going down this route, such thought experiments of course should find their place in your epistemology, no?

    Just as an academic exercise, I would love to find out if any cultural categories emerge in this “quiz” i.e. if some deterministic cultures score differently from more fatalistic communities.

    Shefaly…haven’t read much about Kant..from what I know..he believed more in terms of what we ought to do..rather what we want to do..if what I say is right..then I end up following this, even though I may want to be totally opposite.
    I think these quizes have questions with very obvious answers..I would like to see more questions which tend to disguise their intent and get the mind really thinking to arrive at your answer, may be then it will be more accurate
    -Rambler

  4. I have not much knowlegde about Kant but I like it that your will is directed by reason. The best way to go I think

    You said it well..if our actions are directed by a reason..then probably we might not go wrong..but we also need to find about impulsiveness.
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

