Stony matterz

Standard

If “Money” is making you happy or lack of it making you sad, believe me you are the luckiest person in the world.

There have been days which I have spent dreaming about how much money can change my life, and also the lack of it, not just my life, how different all our lives would be if we had excess of Vitamin M. The above simple sentence has a real catch in there, because “excess” is a subjective word, and not many can easily define excess money.

Anyways coming back to the original topic, If one can define their mood based on the amount of money they had in their pocket, how wonderful it would be right?. I am not saying that money is not important, nor can we survive without it. I am materialistic to the core when it comes to living life. I just have a strong thought from last couple of days that money is bringing us a lot of troubles more than the happiness.

Anybody for stone age?
No not Sharon Stone…Well! On a second thought, she would be fine too πŸ™‚

15 responses »

  1. heh heh …

    its tricky right. one can be happy with lack of money but its harder when you have bills to pay and are worried about your next meal or if the things you love to do cost more than you have … money doesn’t bring us happiness, we can be happy with or without and miserable with or without but it sure helps to make life easier and allows us the ability to live the life we enjoy …

    i suppose it is not the money in and of itself that should determine our happiness but it is a part of the full equation somehow … agh … too much thinking for me before lunch, lol … no idea what i’m even trying to say πŸ˜‰

    Darlene..it makes life easier, it does not bring in sadness..but does it make you happy?…tough one to answer I suppose πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  2. I think being comfortable is the key to happiness with money. Enough to pay bills, enough for some entertainment and vacations…but to allow money to rule your family or the desire to have more rule your family is the cause for great unhappiness.
    Also, being broke and not having enough to eat or keep the lights on also causes great unhappiness….
    Sharon Stone in crappy movies causes me great unhappiness too.

    Aimee…But what if you do not find happiness in money or its absence
    -Rambler

  3. They did a lot of research on that. People who have enough money for their basics needs are much more happier than those who don’t
    However people who have much more money than the ones who can cover their basic needs are only a tiny bit happier.

    Marja..i think I agree with the research totally
    -Rambler

  4. excess.. hmm.. hw cn u have excess of money. how much ever u have.. its never enuf. Ambani n mittal must also b thinkin at times.. “if only i had a few 1000 more crores”

    ssnab, its always the two sides of the coin, its never enough, or its always enough..if you know what i mean
    -Rambler

  5. Nope not me !! and I am not for Sharon Stone too πŸ˜€

    Totally materialistic as you put …..lack of money is worst nightmare for me 😦

    Bm..lack of money is a nightmare agreed…but its presence has it made you feel happy?
    -Rambler

  6. Rambler:

    I never have any cash in my pocket and routinely get caught out. But the upside is that I spare myself buying things I do not need e.g. extra calories in the form of a coffee or random newspapers or magazines that I will throw as soon as the train ride is over. Of course, there is plastic but many smaller establishments do not take cards. So not keeping cash is liberating and fun. Try it πŸ™‚

    PS: The only people who say ‘money does not make you happy’ are those who are flush with funds. They should donate it all and see if that makes them happy. At any rate, happiness, like weight, is believed by researchers to have a genetic ‘set point’ and external stimuli can momentarily change that neutral equilibrium but to believe a seismic shift can happen due to money (or things money buys) is plain foolish.

    Shefaly…welcome back…long time no see…
    can you believe I too do not carry cash much, my taste’s are seldom expensive, but unfortunately I love street food so end up spending there.
    I am one of those who believe in lack of money can make me sad, but money cannot make me happy. If you go with the argument that happiness is not lack of sadness.
    btw the last couple of lines..are they your quote?
    -Rambler

  7. Hmmm…to each,their own.

    Money is not the most important thing for me.As long as I have enough to live a decent living,that is sufficient.There are many more vitamins in my life than Vitamin M.

    Have a nice weekend! πŸ™‚

    Sameera..you seem to have conquered the want for money πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  8. Really..Money has turned our way of life upside down. EOD most of us are wasting 12 hrs of a day for an artificial entity called M.

    Going back to stone age is an excellent idea i would prefer to visit..and pay attention on natural entities 9 hrs a day.

    Suriya…as I said in the post..I am total materialistic guy, and would never claim money is not important..but then can it bring me happiness…well I am not so sure πŸ˜€

    -Rambler

  9. Guys..I think I totally screwed up what I really wanted to write about, I mean I drifted off from my real intent.
    What I wanted to stress here was, if it is “money” which is making you happy or sad, you are lucky,,because for both retaining it or gaining it we have well known ways..but there are things in life which make you happy and you have no clue what to do to get them

  10. Am I unlucky then? πŸ™‚ Money never made me happy, infact I remember when I got my first salary, I was not tht happy. I sometimes curse myself, I should have celerated tht moment, but Alas!
    I have never thought of ‘money’ as something to discuss about. But if money is with me, I feel secure. But lack of it, never thought. You know what, once I read in my horoscope, that in-case I don’t have money and I am in need of it, then from some or the other way, money will come to me….And I have total blind faith in this saying….hehehehe πŸ™‚ so NO worries!
    I believe money is not bringing trobles, but love for things bring troubles.

    Keep smiling! Bless You! ~Namaste~

  11. Rambler:

    All that I wrote is my words πŸ™‚ No quotes in there from anyone else.. Does that answer your question?

    Shef..
    It does totally πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  12. Rambler – My mantra is if you don’t know how to get them then just ‘let it go’. Life will surely give the way and if it can’t, then one day it will give the reason ‘why’!
    Why to keep on pondering these things, when you can try and think of many things, that can make you happy………Observe!

    Bless You!

  13. I’ve said this before but it’s worth repeating (I think): My thoughts on money in life: I’ve been with the haves and the have nots. I’d rather have it, than not.

    Money may not buy happiness but it does buy choices.

    Good topic, glad i stopped in. G

    Geraldine..I loved the way you ended the comment, with the one on choices
    -Rambler

Leave a Reply

