Yours lovingly…..

Standard

Gone are the days when the signature at the end of the letters gave away mood of the person who wrote the letter, or may be for the person with acute observation gave a lot of information regarding the human behavior. I say that those days are gone, mainly because, nobody seem to hand write letters any more. I do not blame people at all, with a faster cheaper alternative called email, who would really mail a snail mail letter.

Coming back to the topic of signature at the end of the letters, the concept is also extended to the email etiquette. On a normal day I get huge number of business emails, and each one of the people have a different way to sign off the email. I personally go with

Thanks
-<name>

Regards
-<name>

Thanks & Regards
-<name>

Its very rare that I do not sign off an email, only when I send out off the record official emails, that too some really close associates I send out on liners without a signature.

I have seen people attaching a quote of sorts to their official emails, even though I find it amusing to read the quotes, I sort of find it non – professional, may be that’s how the casual working style works, but then somehow I find it a little too casual.

The other common thing I have found people attaching to their signatures are their contacts, specially their phone/fax etc. I generally avoid doing this, mainly because within the organization the address book which comes when one clicks the email id has the information, and for people outside our organization I hardly send emails, and when I do I would like to shield my contact information until it is absolutely necessary to give out.

One thing which I absolutely detest in the official mail signatures are use of any references to the religion one belongs, or probably use of nick name for the self. I think its again way too casual.

Lets keep aside the official emails, lets talk about personal emails. Yes I do write personal emails, one perk you get because of your close friends staying away in a different place. So when you send out an email to a close friend, I generally tend to use the language we use when we speak face to face, throwing in words of kannada in between, a few slang, a couple of curse words [I am sure they would disagree with this ;)] . When it comes to signing off, I have a dilemma.

With love – sounds cheesy isn’ it?
Cheers- Well it sounds so much unlike me, as I never use that word
Regards – sounds so formal.
Yours lovingly – sounds straight out of a chic movie

I guess I am running out of signatures, not sure what else can one use.

Zemanta Pixie
19 responses »

  1. Corp comm dept dictates what you are supposed to put as signature for official mail. No way to escape that in my experience. I donno abt your company – so no silly feelings – just obey. Personal mails – anything is ok – who cares !

  2. When I have to send a more professional email, I keep it seperate from my personal email…therefore, I don’t have to worry about falling into that trap of being too informal or forgetting to get rid of my signature (link to my blog). When I close an email…if it’s professional I’ll usually sign off “thank you” but for personal emails I almost always sign off “take care”.

  3. Hummm..never put in so much thought process into this.
    Yes professional mails have to be professional and as per company policies. No personal creativity there.
    About personal mails ; I write them rarely πŸ˜€
    and over the period the signature also has been graduated πŸ˜€
    and it is totally personified πŸ™‚ A custom made signature for every special person ..lol πŸ˜‰

  4. For personal mails..i dont even bother signing off…its such an abrubt endin as far as my mail goes. Max to max..love/lovingly/Ciao/Buh Bye/Cheerio…

  5. in case of official emails, it is mostly ‘thanks and regards’ in my case, followed by my full name, designation, company name, address and company landline number, in that order. that’s a kind of generally accepted rule in our organisation, though people do change it from time to time.. πŸ™‚ i have seen punchlines accompanying emails, but it is usually for emails within the organisation…

    in case of informal/personal mail, i usually close with whatever i am feeling at the moment… i agree with you that ‘yours lovingly’ sounds too weird.. πŸ™‚ for me it can vary – love, waiting for your reply, surprised, shocked, happy, etc. followed by my first name…

  6. hahaha!

    see in personal mails too… if i m sending to elders and relatives… i put in
    “good luck and best wishes”

    and for all other friens i use

    lov,
    Veens


    lov,
    Veens

    nay it is fine πŸ˜‰
    i dnt think anyone even notices so much; if they are close friends πŸ™‚

  7. As far as official mails are concerned, I don’t like to put quotes, contact information or anything, only like you mentioned…thanks, regards. And the people who do this, I don’t want to judge unless I know the reason…..I have never asked them, so no comments.

    And for sending personal mails to my friends, I never never think…what ever comes in my mind while typing, I just write….can be anything from my name to love, hugs, regards(if I am little bit formal to some friends) roses, blessings………….Why to think? Friends are not here to judge you.

  8. Smiles πŸ™‚
    That’s more like me. πŸ™‚

    On the professional front, its more of a canned/default signature. Thanks & Regards. Boring, but it works for me..

  9. I usually go with “best wishes” on business type emails and “cheers” or “love” on emails to friends. The one that really gets me is when people end off an email with just there initial. I kind of wonder, “why bother”!?
    πŸ˜‰

  10. Vijay..I would be surprised if our company had some rules regarding an official email signatures..personal..may be some of us care πŸ˜€

    Silver, “take care” sounds good..somehow I never say that in person..so kind of feel odd to put in the email

    Sameera..friends with official signatures :)..may be they are lazy to delete the auto inserted signatures πŸ™‚

    BM..special signature for every one?..would love to see my personalized version of your signature..so can I expect an email soon?

    Mez..I guess its a personal style..I very rarely send an email without signing off…cheerio?…whats that

    GS..cheera ha..

    suma..warm regards..sounds good …but did you mean official or personal?..

    Rash, I think I do πŸ™‚

    priya..surprised/shocked/happy..now this is something new πŸ™‚

    Veens, good luck to elders?..wow this is new too

    Neilina..I did not mean to judge anyone..just personally I do not like to put those, and find it informal when others do it in official emails
    Personal emails, I sometimes do think, I personally feel I take people for granted, so once in a while its good to show how much we care..its not judgmental at all,

    Nrsl..smiles sounds good too πŸ™‚

    Vanilla, hmm I think initials is ok with me personally πŸ™‚

  11. Usually this is common sense. I add my phonenumber so people can choose to ring me. I always end with cheers and regards as a more formal way.

    Marja…I think you have kept it simple and neat.
    -Rambler

  12. You missed a important part of my comment. I write personal mails very rarely πŸ˜€
    and sometimes w/o signatures πŸ˜€

    Rarely does not mean never πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  13. official mails end with ‘With Regards’ and
    i end personal emails with a ‘Cheers’ or ‘njoi n tc’
    i dont think i write my name here.. don’t remember actly πŸ˜›

  14. aha .. i never really paid attention to it.
    for me official stuff i like a leave letter to the princi. there i write yours sincerely but other wise in personal emails , it generally ends with a “bye” and my name.
    somehow i think with love and cheers might sound right even for personal emails. but sometimes it is required though i think the thanks and the regards policy is excellent !

    BB..it all changes once you begin your corporate life. I like the plain bye πŸ™‚
    -Rambler

  15. I agree with Priya…

    Even i use punch lines in my official mail signatures…. but i use it only with the Organisation.

    When i need to send it outside, i remove them.

    For personal emails, also i add punch lines, animated images and stuff to make reading a fun along with “with luv”,”with care” with respect to the ppl i send the mails

    ^ _ ^

Leave a Reply

