The babysitter

Standard

The difference between theism and non-theism is not whether one does or does not believe in God. It is an issue that applies to everyone, including both Buddhists and non-Buddhists. Theism is a deep-seated conviction that there’s some hand to hold: if we just do the right things, someone will appreciate us and take care of us. It means thinking there’s always going to be a babysitter available when we need one. We all are inclined to abdicate our responsibilities and delegate our authority to something outside ourselves. Non-theism is relaxing with the ambiguity and uncertainty of the present moment without reaching for anything to protect ourselves….Non-theism is finally realizing that there’s no babysitter that you can count on

I read this over at The Silent K, a blog I have been reading for quite some time now and this has remained on my mind for a couple of days now. The idea of believing or not believing in god, did not really capture my attention for long, however the idea of someone being there to hold our hands, and if we do things right, someone being there to appreciate, that is what is keeping me thinking all along.

I think, subconsciously, I do believe that our good deeds are not going to go unnoticed, more importantly our bad deeds will definitely come back to haunt us, you can name it karma, or even theism that there is someone up there watching us, but I think its almost deep routed in me to believe there is someone to hold on to.

Leaving godly or super-human concept aside, I would still like to believe in a baby sitter, you know someone out there a friend, a relative, or even a stranger who is gonna take care of doing good things, guiding us. Just the idea of such a hand to hold on to, can be very comforting.

You may ask, isn’t that a false comfort?, may be it is, but look at the positive effects it brings in us, it keeps the hopes alive, even in hopeless situations, when you don’t see a way out, it keeps you interested with a possibility which is beyond your imagination, in a way boosting your morale, and making you take that extra stretch towards the task.

Non-theism to me appears to me, is for people who can see the brighter side of things, if they don’t, I think non-theism can be disastrous. In a way it works out well, because instead of depending on an uncertain super being, people tend to work harder, and without slack, because they got to do everything. However I feel, this can be a little disheartening when things are not going great for a person, may be there are higher chances that the person might give up hope. This is one of the main reasons I feel Non-theism is for strong people.

Coming back to the idea of a babysitter, are there people who really would not want the comfort of having one?, I doubt if there would be people who would not want such a comfort, however believing in existence/non-existence I think we will find people on both the sides of the wall.

15 responses »

  1. This is very much a problem I have. When I was a child, I was taught that there was a god, went to church school, learned the stories of the bible. As I got older, I was exposed to many types of different theologies, none of which rang true to me. As a result, I found myself without any kind of faith. Sometimes it’s scary & lonely, but I think there’s a part of me that believes that there’s something there, even if I don’t believe in it, that causes everything to work out. Maybe it’s inside each of us, maybe it’s an outer force. Maybe it’s just human will. I wish I could believe in a babysitter. Maybe I do more than I’m willing to acknowledge!

  2. i believe good things happen to good people, just not right away you know? no instant gratification from being a good person, just the knowledge that you are and that living that goodness will bring you faith and happy times. thats what i think anyways. thanks so much for this post, it was so insightful and beautiful and thought provoking ❤

  3. I don’t go to church anymore. I don’t believe in church. I do believe in God but my whole concept of God has changed. I think all is part of God We too and we have to learn to get in touch with it by being good and than we automatically become more fulfilled happier and and connected.
    Very diffferent from the babysitter concept.

  4. I guess I lso find it hard to believe that peope dnt want the comfort that comes with baby-sitter 🙂

    but then there are people on both sides of the fence 🙂

    and then I m not so strong to not look for comfort at all 🙂

    so there u go.. i believe!

  5. Earlier when I was hanging between theism and non-theism human consciousness had always tried to make me feel guilty. But now, I have completely made myself to believe in my babysitter. I need babysitter and may be I can’t do anything with him/her.
    About our good/bad deeds, am not that much inclined to Karma but more on ‘satisfaction’, ‘your inner sense’!

  6. Yeah its true what goes around comes around. But having said this: I also believe that just being good doesn’t guarantee good will happen, you have to be smart and good at same time. 🙂

    And about baby sitter: I don’t believe.

  7. Well, look I’m a non-theist… or an atheist. And that’s simply because of the fact that all the explanations given to the supreme force called ‘GOD’ are senseless in my view. I’m a person who needs ‘babysitting’ and your lover and close friends do the job for me.

  8. I kind of worry that the “babysitter” will abondon in the time of need. It’s not a good feeling, but one that I’ve felt several times, especially in the last few years.

  9. Vanilla, The idea of a babysitter need not mean one does not need to do anything and can depend on the babysitter for everything, it could mean that when you think you have tried maximum, and worked the best you could and have reached a dead end, there is still hope that there is someone who will guide you into the next step. Again a very interesting perspective you have here.

    Nita..what do you don’t believe in, God?, If not god, possibility of other people acting as babysitters to us?..when you say you believe in good things happen to smart people, does it mean you believe that good things happen, and are not caused by the smart people?

    Sameera..so you believe in what goes around comes around..good to know people’s beliefs..

    Autumn, I think I am very close to you in terms of stance, I think I too have a belief down somewhere that good things happen to good people..if not good things, atleast nothing bad can happen to good people

    malpal5708
    You are absolutely right, it need not be an instant gratification, it can be in most subtle forms, like opening up a new avenue, or even clearing your mind for thoughts

    Marja..Yeah that was different

    Veens, me too was surprised that so many people do not want the comfort..btw wanting comfort does not mean one is weak.

    Neilina..now that you believe in the babysitter, did this change your thoughts?. did you end up being more positive, and do you see a change in the results because of this new confidence?

    Dark Knight,
    nice to know your thoughts

    Preethi, what do you believe in?

    Kris, Surprise yet again, you don’t seem to be the kind of guy who looks for comfort in a babysitter..and man you prove me wrong everytime 🙂

    Silver, thats a new angle to this..would like to think more on that

    Prats, thanks for the tag..will check it out

Leave a Reply

