Don’t brand me a sexist

Standard

One thing which has always fascinated me are women and handbags. My mom’s cleans her handbag like once in a year or so, and the dustbin in her room is almost full with junk that day, one thing for sure, she would never call it junk. Anyways even though the concept of highly useless contents fascinate me, I guess its more about what I consider “useless”, and my mom “useful”. Β 

With lot of difficulties, and with help from some of my female friends, I may someday understand the need for many things that go into a handbag.Β 

One thing which no one can make me understand is this.

You spend at the max 15/20 mnts in the cafe for a cup of coffee amidst a busy afternoon full of work, Coffee is served free of cost, and tissues are all over the cafeteria, why would a women want to carry her handbag to cafe?. Β Nope it’s not a small wallet, its a big shoulder bag.

As I complete this post, one question that comes to my mind, why the hell am I bothered πŸ˜€

23 responses »

  1. The last point makes sense. But I would say wait until you get married; you get answered to so many questions πŸ˜‰ or better hurry up and get all those secrets revealed πŸ˜‰

  2. You were just curious I guess, but like your mom says, these things are “useful” and you never know when an emergency arises! Could be while sitting in a cafe!

  3. Am thinking, did you ever get a chance to look into any woman’s handbag except your mom? πŸ˜‰
    Handbags give uniqueness to women and reflect their personality.
    Rambler if you are very much curious to know about handbag, you can take BlueMist’s Handbag Predictions πŸ˜‰

  4. I can’t speak for other women, but for me it’s a matter of being prepared (argh, I just remembered an item I forgot to stick in my bag!!). You never know what you may need when you’re away from home & it’s best to never need for anything. Especially if you have a husband who may need your assistance. πŸ˜‰ Quick inventory (I had to bring out an additional bag just yesterday): Book for when I’m bored, camera for when I see something interesting, notepad & pen for random thoughts or shopping lists, nail clippers for a broken nail, lip goo for dry lips, aspirin for the sudden headache, shall I go on? hee hee

  5. Umm as it happens… i hate handbags.. but there r times i wish i just had brought them.. esp u can have the comb and other stuff in there… not many women used pants before.. and its hard to have bulging pockets u know..

    imagine a purse with comb, deodorant.. umm a moisturizer some pills money credit card.. a book.. few keys.. pen … and handkerchief.. um the list is endless.. if u consider the keepsakes πŸ™‚

  6. Oh Rambler there are so much useful things in a woman’s bag Your mum is right in this case
    Want to say goodbye and all the best to you Maybe see you next year Lots of hugs

  7. it is alright πŸ˜›
    i never understood the need either πŸ™‚

    but I carry it nevertheless!

    πŸ˜€

    and yah.. it bothers me… what kind I carry etc πŸ™‚

  8. ha..ha…
    i found this post very cute…(for lack of a better word)..:)

    tho i personally don’t carry a handbag if i know i won’t be needing money…

    besides you ae a guy and you definitely wouldn’t understand…and trust me, you wouldn’ty want to know πŸ˜‰

  9. Swat..Well there are restrooms in all the floors, so why wait till the cafe???

    BM. It does make sense doesn’t it πŸ™‚

    Swat..oh like people who prefer to wear sweaters or jackets even in hot summer?..

    Nita..an emergency in cafe?..that too which cannot wait 5 more minutes where one can get back to cube?

    Kris..ah now you ate talking some sense πŸ˜€

    Saumya..I think I never saw you with an handbag..atleast in cafe πŸ™‚

    BM..actually no ..inspired by a lady I saw at our cafe

    GG..hmm I can understand carrying office with us, but why to the cafe?

    Neilina..I did not look into my mom’s bag, just when she cleans it once a month I get to see the dustbin full of torn wastes πŸ™‚

    Autmun, do you always carry these with you???

    Rebecca..now you are talking things which I can understand πŸ™‚

    Sameera, I am smart isn’t it πŸ™‚

    Winnie..why would you need all that when you are just away for 5 mnts having coffee

    Marja..hope to see you back soon

    Veens..you too???

    Suma..hows this cute :D..ah finally someone who agrees, that one does need a bag if money is not involved

    Prats..divine security..awesome wordings.. hehhe

    Nrsl..I wouldn’t mind going to cafe without wallet πŸ™‚

  10. yeah right.. why are you bothered.. the handbag is our security blanket.. and has almost everything we will need for all situations emergency and mundane.. you just wait young man.. it will be one of these that save you from a natural disaster one day!! they just come fully equipped!!

  11. lol …
    this post has me smiling through out.
    earlier I used to think almost along the same lines as you. but now in college thinsg have changed and its not just about the handbag but the latest fashion handbag.
    not that I give the fashion part any thought. but I have discovered that handbags are useful, to carry stuff obviously but there is more to it.
    it like a sheild and most of all a confidence booster.
    I am getting used to lugging it around. the worst part is that I just put junk in it. when I clean it once a week there is all sorts of stuff from sugar sachets to loads of bus tickets. Its great to throw stuff in and just walk out. the only tricky part is that I have had quite many scares of losing my phone in the jumble.
    I dont think guys can get it.

  12. Dunno, perhaps you feel the need for a handbag yourself? πŸ˜‰
    Personally, I find handbags a real pain, but then I also can’t think of where to carry all my stuff – mobile phone, wallet, chequebook, hairbrush, lipstick, tissues, mini umbrella, notebook, house keys, car keys, mace…. See now why we need handbags… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

