I have been reading

Standard

Last few weeks has been high on productivity when it comes to my reading, I seem to have gobbled few books thanks to the fort worth library and their wonderful service.

I began with Augusten Burroughs, I sort of developed a liking to his style of writing after reading his “possible side effects”, and this is his 3rd book which I am reading. A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father, is a memoir about the author’s troubled relation with his father. It was very believable in parts, but at parts it was too dramatic to be real. I like his style of writing, which is adds a touch of humor to the serious topic being discussed. At places I felt I could relate in a way to the child’s thought process that he has depicted in the book. In all a decent book.

About a Boy by Nick Hornby, This was my shot at what I would term a time pass novel, no wonder I came to know its been made into a movie. This is a romantic comedy, about a relationship between a commitment freak Casanova and a kid who is being raised by a single mom. Many episodes in the book appears to be straight out of movie. I again liked character of the boy and more so of his eccentric girl. This was a real time pass, if you are not a serious reader and like romantic comedy movies, then this book is right for you

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, This is a very famous book amongst readers, and I had seen it on the shelf many times, somehow I am not into hyped books, never feel like jumping on them. This time too this was borrowed not by me, but my friend under my card. Since I had some time left before this was due, I kind of started reading this. To tell it in short it was a good book, I liked the depiction of Afghanistan and the harsh realities the author brings out, at many places you would want to dismiss the book saying it isn’t real, but the sad part is that, it is.
The Curious Incident of the Dog by Mark Haddon. This came as a total surprise, I did not expect this teen fiction would be this good. I just picked it up because the picture on the cover excited me and the description at the end of course.  I had never heard about the author nor the book. This is about a boy who is a little nerdy, good with mathematics, who tries to solve the murder mystery of a neighbor hood dog. If you think the plot is silly, you would be surprised how well the author has woven the story and the suspense. Its as though I am beginning to like troubled characters a lot. There were episodes in the book, which were extremely well written, heart felt and very real. If you like my kind of books, you will like this :).

So guys here’s the next one on my desk, right now.
The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid: A Memoir by Bill Bryson

by the way, the book shelf on the blog has been updated too, go check it out.

5 responses »

  1. I’ve read every one of those books…Thunderbolt Kid and The Wolf at the Table within the last month. I didn’t care much for The Wolf at the Table. Compared to Burroughs other books, it seemed lacking in something. But the other books, they were very good. About a Boy is one of my fave books of all time actually…

  2. i loved the kite runner.. and i m waiting to read the curious incident of the dog in the night time.. 🙂

  3. I have read the last two 🙂

    I think the thousand splendid suns is a better book but kite runner is quite good

    And curious incident is replete with laid back brit humor 🙂 and the satire is biting! I loved it 😀

Leave a Reply

