A tale of seats

Standard

I use my work transport to get to work everyday, I have always loved to use it. Not because I am big supporter of cause like global warning, or conservation of fuels, even though I believe in all that, I am one of those useless average Indian who cribs about all the issues, and does not really take any steps to actually do something about them. I use the transport mainly because I hate driving, I have never liked it, and I don’t know how to drive my car.

Anyways, coming back to the topic, I take my transport provided by my work place to get to work. I am one of the last ones to be picked up and first ones to be dropped off. [Yes, I know I am fortunate, and I thank my stars everyday for it]. The bus I take is not a crowded route, so the bus is almost empty most of the days. Usually when I get into the bus there are  plenty of  choices of seats for me to choose from, and its the same picture every single day. The first day I ever rode that bus,  I had to choose my seat. So what do I do?, I go and choose the least preferred seat, the one on top of the wheel. Its a known fact that its gonna bounce a lot if I sit there.

I walk in the next day, I have a lot of choices, but this time around, I walk directly to the seat I took the previous day, as though its my designated seat, and the pattern continued. I always go and occupy the same seat, even when the bus is empty and I have a seat right in the front, I just go and sit in that seat. For no reason it has become ‘my’ seat.

One day I went in to find my seat taken, I developed an instant hatred towards the person who had taken up my seat, not that I didnt have other seats for me, but they are not ‘my’ seat. I must have looked up like every 10 minutes, knowing for sure the seat will not become empty, but still I looked at the person like 100 times and cursed him for taking up my seat.

This made me realize how much possessive I can become in the name of attachment.

I guess there are three kinds of people,

a. People who choose the same seat every single day

b. People who make sure they find a new seat every day, and try to experience novelty in the seats

c. People who dont really care about this, and just want to find a seat to sit.

Even people who belong to category a, have different levels of possessiveness, some might just feel bad that the seat is taken and curse the person once, and others like me might be so possessive that they curse the person every few minutes.

On second thought its not really possessiveness, I think its more to do with our routine being broken. Its as though we want life to become a routine, we want smaller aspects in life to follow a pattern, and for some reason when the pattern is broken, we don’t like the change, we don’t like the idea of having to do something out of the norm.  Why does our mind like ‘known’ so much, what is it that we fear about the ‘unknown’, How much of a problem a new seat can cause me?.

When I am so icky of the new seat, I can’t even imagine how I am gonna take the break in my routine when bubbles is going to walk into my life fully

8 responses »

  1. Oh I am the same way! I always chose the same seat on the school bus and in college I always sat in the same seat everyday during the semester, even when we didn’t have to sit in a certain chair. It was just more comfortable to be sitting in a familiar area everyday.

  2. well m not exactly of the routine sort. but i like to being in familiar area.. like 3rd or 4th bench in class. maybe you should conciously try n break your routine..

  3. Breaking routine in any “seatly” form is difficult. I know how i never sit on the ladies seat in buses..since it gimme pleasure (though a wicked one) when those so-called “gents” stand…(ofcourse, they nvr hve the courtesy to get up and offer ladies a seat, wch i feel is a truly gentle thing to do!) And oh otherwise, i have changed seats…i like changing seats and observing the view from the other side of the “seat” 🙂

  4. “and others like me might be so possessive that they curse the person every few minutes” HAHAhahahhaha………. Ha! 😛

    in case you didn’t realize, she’s already walked into your life and there are already plenty of changes in your life, and you’re still doing fine 🙂

  5. i wonder on what level of the subconscious does this reside? i read these words and had to analyze myself. i guess i would be a type a kind of person, for no other reason than hating change. it is something i have always known about myself. so next time i will opt for a new view… on my own terms. thanks

Leave a Reply

