Opinions and Theories

Standard

Of all the men in a woman’s life, two of them play an important role, the father, the husband. I know I haven’t considered the friend, the ex, there are way too many exceptions to my first statement, well may be the first line itself is an exception, well all I can say is, let’s assume that two men play an important role.

I thought I understood women better, I thought I could theorize world better, I thought I could predict better, but there are times when people leave me baffled. It could be an sms from a friend, a statement made by my wife, or being ignored by another friend. Woman always have their way of putting me back to a place where I belong.

If you are wondering whats the relation between the first and second paragraph of this post, don’t try too hard, I guess I will be able to make you see my point soon.

Certain people in our life have authority at times over us, may be its a bank manager who is about to grant us a loan, boss at work during our appraisal time, for foodies like me, may be its the paani poorivala who stands close to our house. In more than one occassion people like these can have a control on our actions, our thoughts, most importantly our opinions. One person who really has an authority for most of our life is our father. I know people can deny this, people can say they had a wonderful father who gave them all the freedom in the world, but you have to agree with me that he would be the person with most power for a huge part of our growing years.

Of all the types of authorities and control which one can have over humans, I thought the biggest one is that of the opinion. If I have no freedom to express my opinions, or even worse when my opinions are thrashed as soon as they are uttered, without any explanation or logic, I think it would be the worst life I could ever have. Thrashing of opinions might be an extreme example, however the more subtle variant is not very uncommon among our households. That of a strongly opinionated,dominant personality at home. It could be a father or a mother, or both in some cases.
I always felt that people’s opinions tends to get suppressed when living with a strongly opinionated person, at one point the fight to get your opinion heard and noticed looses its worth, the person just gives up on his/her opinions. How many times have you seen couples where the wife/husband has stopped expressing opinions because the other person is a highly opinionated person, how many times have you seen a family, where the members are silenced because of a dominating and opinionated man of the house. I am sure there will be more than on examples right in front of you.

We all get to change these equations in our life, if its a male, it might be a moment when he chooses to move out, or if its a female, in most of the cases it would be time when she moves out into the married world. I do agree that woman now have wider avenues, and have begun to move out just as men do, but lets consider the majority, and that would be the marriage.

Now, given a choice how many of you feel that the person would go for a change, i,e a woman would try to find someone who is not strongly opinionated. I thought the above question would be a no brainer, and every woman would chose the option.

Surprise Surprise..

I thought I understood women better, I thought I could theorize world better, I thought I could predict better, but there are times when people leave me baffled. It could be an sms from a friend, a statement made by my wife, or being ignored by another friend. Woman always have their way of putting me back to a place where I belong.

8 responses »

  1. It’s better to be around someone with an opinion rather than with someone who has no opinion. No opinion could easily be read as either “don’t care” or “doesn’t matter”. Not appealing to me.

  2. Sometimes a strongly opinionated person may actually also be a good listener.
    And yes, women are difficult to understand.
    But then we women do not understand ourselves most of the time, so you guys are not alone!
    And agree with Misty, the Panipoori part distracted me too. 😀

Leave a Reply

