Posted in Family, Moi, Realité

It happened…

Let me start by saying, I get embarrassed very quickly. I have had numerable instances where I have been embarrassed because of people around me. I think main reason for this is the high standards I set for myself, and how strongly opinionated I am about things. When you believe in something very passionately, you kind of feel violated when someone behaves totally opposite to what you believe in.

You guys do know how much I am particular about time. When I invite someone out, or when I have planned a meeting or so, and the person is late, I get furious, but still I kind of leave some margin of tolerance mainly because its me who invited them, may be they did not anticipate an unexpected event. But when somebody else invites me, and they are late, my blood pressure generally hits double century. How can one be late for an event planned by themselves. It happened on Monday night, I was invited for a dinner outside and was asked to be ready by 8:30PM, I kind of thought its too late, well I do prefer to be at home by 10PM,  anyways I got ready by 8:20 and was waiting, I did not even get a call till 8:50, and I was told they will be there in another 5 minutes, and even after that they took fifteen minutes to come home, so its was already 9:05. Now I had lost the little mood I had to go have dinner, but because of the earlier commitment I got my lazy ass into the car.

Now let me tell you with whom I was going out. I was supposed to go out with a  couple of cousins, when I say couple I mean literally “couple”, my cousin and his wife. I am close to both of them, so she has automatically turned into my cousin. Anyways I generally avoid going to hep places, places which has young and modern crowd when I am with my family. I hate to use the term “modern”, but then that’s what my family does to me, I mean any tight jean clad lady, with a drink in hand is ultra modern to my family. So I avoid going to hep places mainly because, I don’t like to listen to some comments about the crowd which I am sure would disturb me, and make me feel out of place, and embarrassed. My cousin wanted to have something Italian, and as It was already late, only place I could think off was Casa Picola which has opened recently very near to my house. Its not that hep a place, so I thought this would be safe. When I got into the car, I had a surprise, there was one more relative of ours in the car, he is almost my cousin’s age, so he had been pulled along. We had not gone out as a group much, so did not know what to expect from him.

We arrived at  the place, and it turned out be a lounge bar attached to the Italian place. I really liked the place, totally my kind of ambiance, pale colors, very few people around, very comfortable sofa’s and even bean bags around, we chose to be seated on the terrace as the interior place was very hot. As we reached the terrace, I saw that the crowd was very young, a little dimly lit [which I don’t like], and almost all of them looked like pretty cool and minding their own business types. I was happy to see that, even with many people around it was quiet and all in all I was very happy to discover the place.

We got seated, me and the other guy at one side of the table, and my cousin and his wife on the other side. From where we were sitting I could see a couple of women, [not sure may be girls 🙂 ] sitting across the table, the girl kind of looked good, and I was back into my discussion about who is going to drink what. That’s when the guy began, he had a problem with the girl smoking, he was cribbing that she hasn’t kept down the pack ever since we entered, and how can she do that. Mind you he was a smoker as well, he had the cigarette almost all the time we were there, and still he complains, and the worst part was he kept staring at the two women. I did see her a little annoyed with him staring at her, and once in a while the other two turning back and watching them. I was so embarrassed, I wanted to walk upto them and apologize, If only I had better socializing skills.

Anyways then it came to ordering stuff, now that all three of them were having fosters, and me with  my new found sober year for 2008 had ordered a mocktail. We were supposed to order some appetizers, and I picked out few and decided what we may want to order, and when the waiter came to take the order, I told him what we want, and when the waiter was just about to go, this guys screams at him “Hello!”…”do you have any egg item, something like a egg burgee or a egg omelet”, almost every one at the less crowded places turned towards us, I just wanted to get up and run away.

He continues to stare at the two girls, and couple of other pretty girls who had by now come into the restaurant. How can a married guy stare so much?, just because his wife is not around does it mean, go and visually abuse any girl around?, and that too when we have a girl in our group as well.

Anyways, its time to order main course, and by now I just wanted it to get over as soon as possible, so I ask them well in advance, since most of the Italian stuff is bland, what they want to eat, do they want the spicy one, or they want to try the authentic blander versions. And they all agree to go for the blander one, I knew they are not gonna like it, so I suggest some not so bland ones, and for myself I order a dish named “epinard al a crème”, it’s a potato and spinach baked dish. When the dish comes onto the table, they are more intrigued by what I have ordered, and want to grab a bite, which I oblige easily. Worst part was to follow, after just 2 bottles of beer, this guy begins to burp as loudly as a loud speaker, and every 5 minutes, I don’t know how much gas he had in him, he eats a spoon and burps out a big on ‘brrrrrrrroh”, and I am furious at his ill manners, how can you burp so loudly in a restaurant like this, atleast you are supposed to keep the sound down, but no, it appeared as if he wanted everyone to know the strength in his vocal chords.

I was waiting for the check to arrive, so that we can pay and leave. I can’t remember any other time I have been embarrassed this much. I wish those two girls should have walked up to our table, and given us a mouthful.

14 thoughts on “It happened…

  1. This incident reminded me of the time me, my husband and 2 kids under the age of 10 went to casa picola in bangalore, at the time my fav restuarant and my fav dish pepperonata.The crowd was usually cool and so I loved the place. However, this time we had the back luck of having 2 overweight guys staring at me continuously for the one hour we were there. They didn’t even pretend not to look! Here I was, with my husband (he finally changed places with me) and 2 little kids, and these sickos did not take their eyes off me!
    Well, these kind of men are there, but luckily they are rare. The problem is that they have no idea that they are being abnoxious. They think that they have a right to stare if they find the woman interesting, because after all women are not human beings in their eyes. They are things.

    Well I guess the situation might have been different if instead of two women, it was a mixed group.
    I think you are right, they are not aware of being obnoxious..i just hope people become much more sensitive towards others.
    -Rambler

  2. It happens
    Not everyone has social grace and it becomes embarrassing for the people accompanying them
    Atleast you didn’t have to control a very drunk friend from lighting a matchstick to a girl’s mini when she bent over at another table with his lighter 😛

    CR,
    did that really happen..atleast I might have found a lighter side if it really did happen 🙂
    -Rambler

  3. oh God! Deja vu time…

    Something similar happened a while back and i’d rather not remember it…

    chandni..sometimes writing about it really educates some people like me :)..who have a lot less sensibilities..
    hey welcome to virtual ramblings..have seen you around at many blogs which I read regularly ..
    -Rambler

  4. I understand your situation. I would have been embarrassed too and chances are I wouldn’t have appreciated my meal no matter how delicious it was. I guess we cannot expect everyone to have proper manners.

    Well not just this I get embarrassed very easily 😦
    -Rambler

  5. i cant help laughing rambler.. the fact that you were so pissed off really makes this hysterical… i mean the guy was an idiot and everything yes… but the picture of you fuming over it just takes the cake!!!!!

    whypaisley..well it is funny for sometime I admit, but then after while it was beyond my control
    -Rambler

  6. P.S. I thought Rambler’s reaction was really cute! Funny and cute. Way to go guys!!

    ha ha Nita..cute?? hows this cute ? 🙂
    -Rambler

  7. well you did make me go … aww …
    that’s so sweet ….
    as embarassed as we girls are being stared at …
    and as much at we wanna kick that man’s ass, you do get used to it …

    i travel in those “killer blue line buses” three days a week … and after a while you just learn to ignore …

    and as for fosters … uhh … i will nevr live this down
    on my parents wedding anniversary .. we went to this “alomost legendary” place with quite a few of our relatives
    my dad and his brothers got a round of beers …
    and as you said “any tight jean clad lady, with a drink in hand is ultra modern to my family” its the same with us …
    and i being the ass i am said that i wanted to have a taste of the beer ….
    though my dad let me have it ( which was bad btw) my grandmother could have skinned me alive ..
    : )
    i wanted the earth to open and swallow me ..
    but my dad reassured me on the way back sayin “it”s cool… its better you’d do all these things in front of me rather than behind my back” ….

    BB, drinking beer, or catching a glimpse of a girl around is not something which I detest, definitely I do that too, well this year has been no alcohol for me, but otherwise I do not think women should not drink, I admit that smoking women at one time surprised me but then I have seen many of my own cousins and their wives drink i do not think its any wrong, only the basic manners is what I expect from people around me..is that wrong?
    -Rambler

  8. That is embarrassing…I think I would have crawled under the table. Then later would have given the cousin hell. Very unacceptable. How old is he, 10?

    well I just hope he grows up
    -Rambler

  9. Wow. What a character! I don’t think you were in any way wrong to be embarrassed. It’s just amusing that he was perfectly content being a boor. Well, it wasn’t a boring evening, was it? 🙂

    well it was partially, I was not in mood that evening
    -Rambler

  10. interesting evening eh 🙂 you would have killed him wouldn’t you, if you could? lol

    hmm now that you made me think..I am a lot less violent person you know..I probably would have killed myself 🙂
    -Rambler

  11. hahahahaha………..I can’t control my laugh. I m sorry, but I can’t help. For what I am laughing most, imagining that the man is burping so loudly. I like your comment……showing his strength of vocal chords. I am going to surely use it next time when I see someone burping. I remember once my friend came and we thought of having competition as who would burp loudly and like this it started. That time only, papa came from office and he was asking who is this animal, making such unpleasent noise! 🙂 🙂

    Hope you are enjoying! Bless You.
    ~Namaste~ Nidhi

    Nidhi..believe me its not funny when it happens 🙂
    I am sure I would know how your pa felt 🙂
    -Rambler

Leave a comment